It's been a chore to get my diagnosis, and I really don't have an official diagnosis yet. My left armpit was swelled up on April 2. I didn't think much of it since it didn't hurt at all, however I wanted to be safe and went to my primary doctor the next day. She looked at it, pressed on it, asked a few questions then told me it was a pulled muscle and not to worry about it and call her if it started to hurt.
Fast forward to the end of April, the lump is still there, exactly the same size and no pain but I wasn't so sure it should still be there and decided to get a second opinion. This time I went to my OB/GYN. I saw her nurse practitioner She thought it was fatty tissue and no big deal but she ordered a complete blood work up and a sonogram of it just to be on the safe side.
My blood work was fine and I almost didn't schedule my sonogram. But I did and they noticed that is was my lymph node that was swollen and the radiologist told me I had lymphoma and that I needed a biopsy and to contact a surgeon. So I spent the weekend in tears because of course this happened on a Friday. The next week I went to the surgeon who wasn't convinced I had lymphoma since just two of my lymph nodes were swollen, she sent me back for a mammogram.
The mammogram showed a very small cluster of microcalcifications in my left boob and a golf ball size cyst in my right boob, which sent me back to ultrasound. The right boob was just a normal cyst, however the radiologist who looked at my film decided I had breast cancer and told me I now needed a breast biopsy.
Fun times.
I had my biopsy done on May 23. And holy cow, I am a bleeder. As of today the hole still breaks open and bleeds. The surgeon said that since it was around 1 on Thursday I probably wouldn't get my results until Tuesday because of the holiday weekend.
No big deal.
I was shocked when she called me late Friday afternoon with results. They were positive. She went on about how I need to set up different appointments with oncologists, have a genetic test, have a MRI, cancer in younger patients is usually very aggressive, blah blah blah. I didn't really hear much except for the positive. She did say her nurse would call me Tuesday with more info.
I was upset but held it together pretty good over the weekend. Up to this point the only person who knew what was going on was my hubby. I didn't want to worry anyone about something that wouldn't happen. I mean really, I have no risk factors. Absolutely none. I also have no lump or tumor in my boob. I however have an affair with google. I spent all weekend googling everything I could about breast cancer.
I found a lot, which has been helpful. It also made me realize that I really don't have any info about whats going on inside my body. I don't have any clue which type of breast cancer I have, which stage I am in, if it is in my lymph nodes, if it is anywhere else in my body. That is what sucks. I would like to wait until I know before I tell people.
Hopefully I will know soon.
No comments:
Post a Comment